Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Location
    São Paulo - Brasil
    Posts
    6

    Resuscitation of pixels

    Hi everyone, in January of this year I spent a week hunting with my V3i on the beaches of Ubatuba, Brazil. The detector is fantastic and works great everyday. Upon returning from the trip and turning it on again, some dark vertical lines appeared on the screen, the famous "dead pixels." Searching I came to the conclusion that I should send it to Sweet Home.
    I live in Brazil and to send you to the US you need documents and lots of money.
    I decided to do this this week and to my surprise, turning on the V3i this morning, the dead pixels are gone . But I also noticed that there was a greater than normal clearance in the control panel, when I opened I found the lower anchor points were broken.
    Putting things together:
    Could the gap allow the entry of moisture, reaching the screen contacts and this would be responsible for the 'death' of the pixels?
    Did the evaporation of moisture provide the resuscitation of the pixels?
    Has anyone ever experienced this?
    And now the most important:
    Can I get a new carcass without having to send the v3i to Sweet Home?
    Sorry for the bad English, Thank you and great hunting.
    Peruch

  2. #2
    deolslyfox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    49,420
    I will send this directly to Whites.
    If there's anything I hate worse than diggin' pulltabs, its missin' a gold ring.

  3. #3
    rchalker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Youngstown, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    8,823
    Your English is excellent.

    I’ve never had a problem with the control panel. I hope White’s has better news for you. Good luck!
    AKA: Rodney _______ Detectors Used:
    ___________________White's Spectra V3i with DX-1
    ___________________White's TreasurePro
    ___________________Bounty Hunter Discovery 3300



  4. #4

    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Location
    São Paulo - Brasil
    Posts
    6
    Trying to improve my description of the problem:Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20190115_150304_Easy-Resize.com.jpg 
Views:	29 
Size:	215.8 KB 
ID:	112696Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20190115_150333_Easy-Resize.com.jpg 
Views:	21 
Size:	197.5 KB 
ID:	112697Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20190209_094432_Easy-Resize.com (1).jpg 
Views:	28 
Size:	243.4 KB 
ID:	112698Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20190209_094432_Easy-Resize.com (1).jpg 
Views:	28 
Size:	243.4 KB 
ID:	112698Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20190209_094530_Easy-Resize.com (1).jpg 
Views:	20 
Size:	222.7 KB 
ID:	112699

    Thank you.

  5. #5
    rchalker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Youngstown, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    8,823
    Those lines in the screen are usually a sign the screen is going bad. If you have checked the ribbing cable and its still full of lines then the screen just needs replaced. Usually dropping or a hard impact to the screen causes the screen to fault like that. How did the display get broken?
    AKA: Rodney _______ Detectors Used:
    ___________________White's Spectra V3i with DX-1
    ___________________White's TreasurePro
    ___________________Bounty Hunter Discovery 3300



  6. #6
    deolslyfox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    49,420
    As Rod said, if all the cables are tight, you will most likely need a new LCD. Good luck !!
    If there's anything I hate worse than diggin' pulltabs, its missin' a gold ring.

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Location
    São Paulo - Brasil
    Posts
    6
    Thank you very much for your attention, Rod and Fox do not know how much they help me.
    I have no idea how the display broke, I never dropped it, I thought it could be a glued piece because I bought this detector used in the USA but there are no signs of it, maybe a tightening too much by the former owner added to the extreme conditions here in the Brazil, more than 40 degrees Celsius this summer, could have caused the break, just suggestions or just dropped it on the ground and did not warn me.
    Anyway, I will contact the factory to find out what they suggest with solution.
    Thank you one more time.
    Ricardo Peruch

  8. #8
    showard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Sweet Home, OR
    Posts
    1,006
    Likely your LCD display overheated. Once cooled down, it will likely be OK. As far as the display housing, it does need to be latched closed. Replacement parts are available in/from the USA. However, pod replacement does require some technician level skills.

    Howard

  9. #9
    deolslyfox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    49,420
    Thanks Howard ....
    If there's anything I hate worse than diggin' pulltabs, its missin' a gold ring.

  10. #10

    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Location
    São Paulo - Brasil
    Posts
    6
    Many thanks Howard !!!
    I sent those same photos to you by email but it returned even with a low resolution. Thanks for replying here.
    How do I buy this part, is there a specific factory department?

  11. #11
    rchalker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Youngstown, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    8,823
    Thanks Howard.
    AKA: Rodney _______ Detectors Used:
    ___________________White's Spectra V3i with DX-1
    ___________________White's TreasurePro
    ___________________Bounty Hunter Discovery 3300



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Log in

Log in