Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Bob38's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Tahlequah, OK
    Posts
    2

    Classic SL Trimpot settings

    Last week I was having problems with my Classic SL making all sorts of noises. Thought it was the ground balance so I tried setting it. The noise would get quiet and then get louder when I moved the Sensitivity knob. So I thought I would clean the potentiometers. From my guitar building days, I knew these pots would get dirty at times and a good squirt of electrical cleaner would solve the problem. However, before I did this I did fiddle with the trimpots mounted on the circuit board VR3 (disc) and VR5 (Frequency). Now I would like to get them back to factory settings or at least know the procedures to restore it to factory.

    Or even better If someone could let me know approximately where these trimpots are set (Clock scale would be great) I currently have them set to VR3 1:30 and VR3 at 10 o'clock.

    Any help would be great!

    Sorry for being a dummy by messing with the factory set trimpots

  2. #2
    deolslyfox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    48,905
    Welcome to the forum .... No help here on the trim pots. Each unit will be a bit different...
    If there's anything I hate worse than diggin' pulltabs, its missin' a gold ring.

  3. #3
    rchalker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Youngstown, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    8,401
    Welcome to the forum. Did you ever hear the saying, “If there’s nothing wrong with it, don’t mess with it?” We’ve all done something like playing with a circuit board. We all think we can make it work better if we turn this or tweak that. I think your best bet is to send it back to White’s and they will go over the whole machine and then you’ll know it’s working properly. The Classic SL is built like a tank so it’s worth fixing. Good luck and happy hunting.

    Rodney
    AKA: Rodney _______ Detectors Used:
    ___________________White's Spectra V3i with DX-1
    ___________________White's TreasurePro
    ___________________Bounty Hunter Discovery 3300



  4. #4
    Bob38's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Tahlequah, OK
    Posts
    2
    The pots mounted on the case must have been dirty because they were making the machine wig out pretty bad and no adjustments would do any good. Just fishing to see if anyone could look at their machine real quick to see if I was in the ballpark on my settings. Anyway, I need to correct my post. My settings are VR5 1:30 and VR3 at 10 o'clock.

    Before I send it in I wanted to see if I was close. I understand that resistors in the unit vary a bit and those trim pots are not meant to be messed with but at that time, I had nothing to lose. If I new the case mounted pots just needed cleaning I wouldn't have messed with them.

    This is my wife's detector and she keeps eyeballing my V3i so you can imagine my desperation.

  5. #5
    rchalker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Youngstown, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    8,401
    You did it now. I bet she's lights up like a Christmas tree when she looks at your V3i. You might have to break down and get her one now. White's has a nice Christmas deal going on right now too. She'll be making out like a champ no doubt. LOL!!!

    As for the settings you're looking for. I don't know who's going to look at their machine to get that kind of info from it. You might get luck though. Good luck.
    AKA: Rodney _______ Detectors Used:
    ___________________White's Spectra V3i with DX-1
    ___________________White's TreasurePro
    ___________________Bounty Hunter Discovery 3300



  6. #6
    deolslyfox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    48,905
    The bigger point is that setting your trimmers like someone else's may or may not get you close. The machine should go in for proper setup. Meanwhile, as Rod noted, there are some super deals on the Whites website right now. A V3i might be just the ticket to earn you "Super Santa" status. .
    If there's anything I hate worse than diggin' pulltabs, its missin' a gold ring.

  7. #7
    showard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Sweet Home, OR
    Posts
    1,000
    It is normal for most metal detectors to beep when you adjust the sensitivity. Basically you are adjusting the signal, the single is what prompts the metal detector to beep, thus, it makes noise during adjustment. No worries, one can tell that is what is occurring.

    Most Classic models have two adjustable trimmers, one for the threshold, and one for the ground balance.

    With the toggle on the grip locked forward (all metal) adjust the Threshold trimmer so that you can hear a very slight hum. The quieter yet still hearable the better.

    With the toggle locked forward (all metal), sensitivity at "P", set the ground balance Trimmer so that when you abruptly lower and lift the search coil from the ground, there is as little change in sound as possible.

    Howard

  8. #8
    rchalker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Youngstown, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    8,401
    Thanks Howard.
    AKA: Rodney _______ Detectors Used:
    ___________________White's Spectra V3i with DX-1
    ___________________White's TreasurePro
    ___________________Bounty Hunter Discovery 3300



  9. #9
    deolslyfox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    48,905
    Thanks Howard ....
    If there's anything I hate worse than diggin' pulltabs, its missin' a gold ring.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Log in

Log in