NY State metal detecting rules

Is there a post about state rules? I don't see any. I am fairly new to metal detecting and am wondering where it is legal/illegal to use a metal detector. So far I have only used it on a beach when on vacation, but I would like to use it around where I live (Hudson Falls, NY/Lake George region).
    If at first you don't succeed, ask your wife how you should have done it.

Welcome !! Some of our New York members can help you out. Sandals, one of our Moderators is in New York. She can point you in the right direction for sure !!

Good luck !!
    If there's anything I hate worse than diggin' pulltabs, its missin' a gold ring.

Welcome to the forum. Any public park, school grounds, some camp grounds, and in your area, I would door knock at the old farms and see if they will let you detect their farm fields. Lots of action near Lake George area. Good luck and happy hunting.

Welcome Aboard
    "Learning is the eye of the mind."
    Thomas drake 1633

Thank you for the responses

Welcome to the forum. Happy hunting!
    AKA: Rodney
    Detectors Used:
    White's Spectra V3i with DX-1
    White's TreasurePro
    Bounty Hunter Discovery 3300

Hi there!.....I do live in NY but on Long Island.....the rules for our area: any state park/beach you must have a state permit ($40), Suffolk County a green key and county pass (not sure of fees), towns have their own restrictions, City has a permit also that is free.....as for your area, I am not familiar with the rules and regulations but Whammy I think lives up that way....good luck and happy hunting
    *************************** To errr is human.....To arrr is Pirate **************************

W.Va born & raised,now upstate Ny I stays
    Welcome to the forum...
    Seems that I'm just south of ya here in south Colonie.