White's Featured Customer Stories
DFX finds silver and gold A Great Afternoon with a Bonus! Bayonets Recovered ring with the V3i FIRST DIG WITH MY WHITE'S BEACH HUNTER 300

Thread: Dfx 300 beach trouble

Detectors
    Dfx 300

Dfx 300 beach trouble

I am new to the dfx 300 when it comes to beach detecting. I have researched the internet for solutions to some of the problems i've run into but couldn't find anything about it. I am using the preset program jewelry/beach. 1.) I have been avoiding wet sand because everytime i detect in it, the detector goes crazy and it is beeping everywhere i search. 2.) When i get a signal strong enough to display a picture of the item on my screen i move the coil back over it and the item seems to have disappeared. It wont beep again. 3.) When i am pinpointing the item, it seems to lock on to the same height instead of fading whenever i move the coil away from the target. For example, i will hold the coil up in the air and it will still say the same height. 4.) When i do get a good signal from the detector, sometimes it wont even pick up the item when pinpointing. I think it is the salt water messing it up, but i'm not sure how to fix it. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Detectors
    V3i / VX3 / DFX / MXT Pro / M6 / 6T / CM GT / XLT / BH 300 / SURF PI DF / 6000D S2
    Welcome to the forum .... Need a little help in order to help you:

1. Where are you?
    2. What coil are you using?
    3. Does your detector ground balance properly?
    4. Have you changed any settings ?

This info will help us get you pointed in the right direction / determine if you might have an issue with your detector, etc.
    If there's anything I hate worse than diggin' pulltabs, its missin' a gold ring.

Detectors
    Dfx 300
    1.) Topsail island, North Carolina
    2.) I'm pretty sure it's the 12 inch coil. It's the one that came with the detector when i bought it.
    3.) It balances in the dry sand but not where the sand is wetter