White's Featured Customer Stories
So many coins Silver and Gold together Burlington Northern Rail Road Buckle 1st gold of the year TWO GOOD WEEKENDS

Thread: TDI-SL or MXT Pro

Detectors
    TDI-SL, Bullseye II

TDI-SL or MXT Pro

I am somewhat new to prospecting and looking for a good metal detector for the foot-hills near Sacramento. I have seen a great deal of frustration with settings for the MXT in the forums. I want a detector that will not be too frustrating to use. The TDI-SL appears to be a metal detector that requires fewer adjustments than the MXT. I plan to search for gold nuggets. Any advice will be appreciated.

Detectors
    V3i / VX3 / DFX / MXT Pro / M6 / 6T / CM GT / XLT / BH 300 / SURF PI DF / 6000D S2
    Welcome to the forum !! If you are going to focus on prospecting, then TDI is the way to go. It's made to thrive in hi-mineralization while still punchin' down to those deep targets ....

Good luck !! Hope you're soon postin' a pic of a nice two pounder !!
    If there's anything I hate worse than diggin' pulltabs, its missin' a gold ring.

People have been doing great with the V3i in Gainscreek Alaska too, the MXT still seems to be the most popular there but the TDI series also have doing great on the big gold nuggets deep too. I don't know how the mineralization in Cal's ground is compared to Alaska though. I've never personally owned a pulse machine mainly because iron is abundant here and there's no salt in the soil to break it down like other areas. I've read extensively about the TDI and sure would like to know someone in this area that has had hands on with one but nobody around these parts has one that I know of.

the Fox is right!